Get the app

Best invoice apps for freelancers.

Seven apps for freelancers, each best for something different: invoicing from your phone, a free plan, or invoices with accounting.

We make Wow Invoice, so read this knowing that. Every fact about the other apps comes from their own website or app store page, dated under Sources.

All 7, A to Z

AppBest forPrice (their site)Phone appEstimates
FreshBooksInvoices plus accountingLite $23/mo (5 billable clients), Plus $43 (50), Premium $70 (unlimited)iPhone and AndroidYes, unlimited
Invoice FlyPhone invoicing, weekly or yearly plan$8.99 a week or $98.99 a yeariPhone, Android and a web loginYes, unlimited, convert to invoices
Invoice SimpleSimple invoicing, well knownEssentials $6.99/mo (3 invoices), Plus $14.99 (10), Premium $21.99 (unlimited)iPhone, Android and webYes
QuickBooksFull books and taxesSimple Start $38/mo, Essentials $85, Plus $140 (free plan has no phone app)iPhone and Android on paid plansYes, they convert to invoices
WaveFree invoicing and books, US and CanadaStarter $0; Pro $19/mo ($190 a year)iPhone and AndroidYes, convert to invoices
Wow InvoiceInvoicing from your phoneFree to downloadiPhone and AndroidYes, one tap to invoice
Zoho InvoiceA free plan with more invoicesFree (up to 500 invoices a year, 2 users)iPhone, Android, Mac and WindowsYes, convert to invoices

Checked on 21 Oct 2026 on each company's own pages. Prices are US, monthly billing unless noted, and change often: check their site before you decide.

How we compared

Works on a phone

You invoice from the job, not a desk.

Quote to invoice fast

Turn a yes into an invoice without retyping.

Takes cards

The client pays the day the job is done.

Cost for one person

What someone working alone pays per month.

Works outside the US

Languages and countries it supports.

FreshBooks

Best for: Invoices plus accounting

Good

  • Invoicing plus accounting for service businesses
  • Cards 2.9% + $0.30, bank (ACH) 1%
  • 30-day trial, no card needed

Watch for

  • No free plan
  • Lite caps you at 5 billable clients
  • Extra team members $11/mo each

Invoice Fly

Best for: Phone invoicing, weekly or yearly plan

Good

  • Unlimited invoices and estimates on both plans
  • Takes card and online payments
  • No credit card needed to start

Watch for

  • Billed by the week or the year, no monthly plan on its site
  • Card fees not stated on its site

Invoice Simple

Best for: Simple invoicing, well known

Good

  • Very large user base: 4.9 from 123K App Store ratings
  • Web app for working on a computer
  • 23 languages

Watch for

  • Cheaper plans cap invoices per month (3 or 10)
  • US cards 3.49% + $0.49

QuickBooks

Best for: Full books and taxes

Good

  • Bookkeeping, reports and taxes in one place
  • Estimates convert to invoices
  • 30-day trial

Watch for

  • More than you need just to invoice
  • Free plan has no phone app

Wave

Best for: Free invoicing and books, US and Canada

Good

  • Free Starter plan with unlimited estimates
  • Invoicing plus simple bookkeeping
  • Estimates turn into invoices

Watch for

  • Built for the US and Canada
  • Starter card fee 2.9% + $0.60
  • App in English only

Wow Invoice

Best for: Invoicing from your phone

Good

  • Built for trades: save the lines you bill again and again, like hours, projects, deposits
  • Client pays from a link by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay, no app needed
  • English, Spanish, French, German and Italian

Watch for

  • No computer version yet (clients can open invoices on any computer)
  • No scheduling or crew features
Download on the App StoreGet it on Google Play

Zoho Invoice

Best for: A free plan with more invoices

Good

  • Free forever, per its own pricing page
  • Approved quotes turn into invoices automatically
  • 18 country editions

Watch for

  • Caps at 500 invoices a year
  • Invoices show “Powered by Zoho Invoice”
  • Card fees not stated on its site

Which should you pick?

Want a free plan on a computer?

Zoho Invoice, or Wave in the US and Canada.

Want invoices and accounting together?

FreshBooks or QuickBooks.

Invoice clients from your phone?

Wow Invoice. Free to download, and your client pays from a link.

Questions

What goes on a freelance invoice?

Your name or business and contact, the client, the date and invoice number, then each line: hours or the project, any deposit already paid, and expenses you pass on. Add tax if you charge it, the total, the due date, and how to pay.

Can an estimate become an invoice?

In Wow Invoice you turn it into an invoice with one tap when the client says yes. Zoho Invoice, Wave, Invoice Fly and QuickBooks also say so on their own sites.

Does my client need the app?

Not with Wow Invoice. Your client gets a link that opens in any browser and can pay by card, Apple Pay or Google Pay from it.

What is the cheapest for one person?

Wow Invoice, Zoho Invoice and Wave are free to download. Paid plans start at: Invoice Simple at $6.99 a month for 3 invoices, Invoice Fly at $8.99 a week or $98.99 a year, FreshBooks Lite at $23 a month for 5 clients and QuickBooks Simple Start at $38 a month, as listed on their own sites in October 2026. Prices are US dollars, monthly billing unless noted.

Does it work outside the US?

Wow Invoice works in English, Spanish, French, German and Italian, with over 135 currencies. FreshBooks’ app lists English, French and Spanish. Zoho Invoice has 18 country editions and its app lists 26 languages. Wave is built for the US and Canada, with its app in English. Invoice Simple offers 23 languages.

Why isn’t my app on this list?

We picked apps that one person or a small crew could use, plus one or two bigger tools where a trade has them. Contract and proposal suites are more than you need to send an invoice, so we left them out.

Sources, checked 21 Oct 2026

  1. FreshBooks pricing — freshbooks.com/pricing (read 21 Oct 2026)
  2. FreshBooks on the App Store
  3. Zoho Invoice pricing — zoho.com/us/invoice/pricing (read 21 Oct 2026)
  4. Zoho Invoice on the App Store
  5. Wave pricing — waveapps.com/pricing (read 21 Oct 2026)
  6. Wave on the App Store
  7. Invoice Simple pricing — invoicesimple.com (read 21 Oct 2026)
  8. Invoice Simple card fees — Invoice Simple Help (read 21 Oct 2026)
  9. Invoice Simple on the App Store
  10. Invoice Fly — invoicefly.com (read 21 Oct 2026)
  11. QuickBooks Online pricing — quickbooks.intuit.com (read 21 Oct 2026)